Posted by: Heart of America News | September 25, 2017

2017 CyMan: One Hot Autumn Race!

by Ron Adkins

Heart of America Triathlon News


Normally, the CyMan Triathlon crowd is bundled up and clutching mugs of coffee. Sadly, not this year.

The Summer of unpredictable Iowa weather carried on into Autumn, with sunny skies and a high in the 90’s. Water temperature at Lake Petocka near Bondurant was, surprisingly, a wetsuit-legal 74 degrees. Lack of rain and unseasonable temps caused an unexpected algae bloom, which made the in-water start challenging. But the 250-plus triathletes gathered on Sunday, September 24, took the heat, the sun, and the annoying flora in typical stride.

They came to race.

DSCN5532DSCN5531Cy-Man holds a distinctive place in the Heart of America Series. While it is the last race on the HOA calendar, it is actually the first race of the following season. The top Series points leaders come to CyMan to race in the Championship Wave, which determines the Series winners. Top finishers in the Championship Wave earn free entries into next year’s races.

Top overall Sprint finishers were Adam Kassem, who came out of the water like a rocket and never looked back. He posted a 1:08:03. Jennifer Groos was not very far behind, finishing strong with a 1:14:18. The fastest team honors went, ironically, to Team In No Hurry with a 1:27:39.

First place Para Triathlon honors went to Ashley Eisenmenger. Though sight-impaired, Ashley crossed the finish line in an incredible 1:30:36.

The Olympic swim was shortened to 750 meters because of the condition of the waterGreg Dowe crossed the line first in the Olympic, notching a 1:56:53 win. Melanie Kraft took top female honors with a 2:13:31.

Complete overall race results can be found at

Congratulations to our Heart of America Triathlon Series winners! Points winners raced in a special championship wave, and the finish times were age-equalized. Brita Loynachan and Guy Olson were crowned 2017 Champions and earned free entry into all 2018 Series races.

dscn5536.jpgCollegiate triathletes from a several schools across the Midwest competed at CyMan this year for top collegiate club honors in this conference championship race. The home team put up a particularly good showing, as Iowa State Triathlon club members Reece Linder took top male honors, with a 1:52:39. Fellow Cyclone Meaghan Easler won the women’s race with a 2:01:30.

The University of Minnesota placed first in the overall team standings. Minnesota also took top men’s division honors. The University of Wisconsin-Madison took home top female division honors. Special mention should be made of Newman University of Wichita, Kansas. The Jets placed in the top five in all three team categories.

CyMan is the only race in the HOA Series that is organized by student athletes. Members of the Iowa State University Triathlon Club, once again, put on a great event. Race coordinators, being the exceptional students they are, said they would take everything they learned this year and apply it to the 2018 CyMan, making it even better.

They also promised to have a pot of coffee ready, just in case.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: