Posted by: Heart of America News | June 7, 2015

Pigman Sprint 2015 – Another Year, Another Course Record

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nearly 800 athletes did not get a good night’s sleep the night before the 2015 running of the Pigman Sprint, as thunderstorms boomed through Eastern Iowa, disturbing much-needed rest and causing worries about whether the race would even be held. But fortune smiled on race director John Snitko and his staff. Despite having to set up the race in a driving rain, the rain stopped and the JMS Racing crew got the race started with only a fifteen-minute delay.

The cool, cloudy day made for a fast field. Jackie Hering beat 2014 champ Heather Lindsay for the women’s crown, and also beat Lindsay’s course record from last year by thirty seconds, crossing the finish line in 1:06:25. Hering also won the $750 cash bonus for being the first person to cross the finish line in the Pigman gender-equalized start.

On the men’s side, perennial champ David Thompson was a last-minute entry. Just about as last-minute as you can get, in fact. Instead of his traditional #1, he wore bib #795, of 796 participants! But the extra weight of more ink on his bib didn’t slow him down, as he carded his twelfth Pigman Championship with a winning time of 1:01:39.

Full results at this link.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: